Theoretical, Analytical, and Cognitive Approaches to Rhythm & Meter in World Musics – 1-2, 8-9 Juin 2023, New york

Theoretical, Analytical, and Cognitive Approaches to Rhythm & Meter in World Musics

June 1-2 and 8-9, 2023, New york
Hosted by the CUNY Graduate Center, The Brook Center, and IFTAWM
AAWM Special Topics Symposium 2023:

We are pleased to announce the second installment of the AAWM symposium series dedicated to theoretical, analytical, and cognitive approaches to rhythm and meter in all global musical traditions, past and present. Our goal is to facilitate a gathering of some of the world’s leading scholars on these issues in a special four-day virtual research symposium the results of which will be available to scholars worldwide via publication in the open-access, peer-reviewed online journal ‘Analytical Approaches to World Music’. There will be a total of 48 individual presentations. Of these, 16 will be invited presentations. The keynote speaker will be Daniel Avorgbedor (University of Ghana). A call for papers will be issued in late September. Paper presentations will be virtual with a duration of 30+15 minutes. Paper sessions will be held in parallel on June 1-2 and 8 and include two parallel morning sessions (9.00-12.00) and two parallel afternoon sessions (14.00-17.00). The final day of the conference will convene on Friday, June 9 and be devoted to panel and discussion sessions exclusively while using the same schedule mentioned previously.

Accordingly, the morning panel sessions (A and B) will meet from 9.00-12.00; the afternoon panel sessions (C and D) will meet from 14.00-17.00.

Invited Speakers: Simha Arom, Daniel Avorgbedor, Stephen Blum, Sylvie Le Bomin, Susanne Furniss, Keith Howard, David Huron, Kelly Jakubowski, Yonatan Malin, Rainer Polak, Jay Rahn, John Roeder, Chris Stover, David Temperley, Michael Tenzer, Renee Timmers, Richard Widdess.

Sponsors: Analytical Approaches to World Music* (, The International Foundation for the Theory and Analysis of World Musics (, The Brook Center, CUNY, The Graduate Center, CUNY

Organizing Committee: Eshantha Peiris, co-chair, Lawrence Shuster, co-chair, L. Poundie Burstein, Barbara Dobbs Mackenzie, Sam Mukherji, Zafer Özgen

Program Committee: Tiffany Nicely, co-chair, Lina Sofia Tabak, co-chair


Société française d'ethnomusicologie